Court told about sports federations’ new norms

Posted by on May 5th, 2010 and filed under Immigration/Law/Rights, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

New Delhi, May 5 (IANS) The central government Wednesday informed the Delhi High Court that it has implemented the modified guidelines fixing the tenure of the members of all sports federations from May 1 this year.

Appearing for the sports ministry, Additional Solicitor General A.S. Chandhiok submitted before a bench of Acting Chief Justice Madan B. Lokur and Mukta Gupta that the central government has taken a decision to implement the modified guidelines of 1975.

The guidelines pertain to fixing the tenure of all the members of all the recognised national sports federations. The modified guidelines have been implemented from May 1, he said.

Raising another issue, counsel Prashant Bhushan on behalf of petitioner advocate Rahul Mehra said there has to be an independent authority to decide the members of the electoral college while conducting elections for the sports federations.

He also sought the court’s direction to all sports associations for strict compliance of the modified guidelines.

The bench has sought an affidavit from the central government about the implementation of the modified guidelines by May 19.

Earlier, the court sought an explanation from the central government for its failure to comply with the guidelines framed for elections of sports federations, including Hockey India.

The petitioner alleged that elections to various sports bodies, including Hockey India, are held without following any guidelines.

Candidates usually contest the elections for more than two terms and retain their posts for several years, which is not allowed under the guidelines.

The sports ministry has modified a 1975 regulation, that means Indian Olympic Association (IOA) chief Suresh Kalmadi and several national sports federation (NSF) chiefs cannot seek a re-election after their present term expires. Among these are V.K. Malhotra (archery), Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa (cycling), V.K. Verma (badminton), captain Satish K. Sharma (aero club) and B.S. Adityan (volleyball).

The original 1975 regulation introduced by the Indira Gandhi government had capped the tenure of the president, the secretary and the treasurer at not more than two consecutive terms of four years each.

The modified clause caps the tenure of the president of an NSF, including IOA, to 12 years.

The tug of war between the government and sports federation bosses over tenure restrictions intensified Tuesday with the IOA warning that attempts to erode their autonomy might invite a, International Olympic Council ban on India, but Sports Minister M.S. Gill showed no signs of backing out.

Categories: Immigration/Law/Rights, Sports

Leave a Reply